| On-device mode (Apple Silicon — M1 or later) | None — audio is transcribed entirely on your Mac and never transmitted. Account holders: email (account auth) plus non-identifying usage analytics; crash reports exclude dictated content. | No In on-device mode nothing leaves your Mac: your voice is transcribed entirely on the device. Because audio never crosses the network, there is no training to opt out of. Training25/25 | Audio: not transmitted, not retained. Account email: kept while account is active. Retention25/25 | Yes — Whisper models running on the Apple Silicon Neural Engine. Requires an Apple Silicon Mac (M1 or later). On-device25/25 | New entrant; on-device processing removes the surface for retention or training incidents. Track record22/25 | 97/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Zero-retention cloud mode (open-source models on zero-retention providers — all Macs and Windows) | Audio is encrypted in transit and sent to zero-retention providers for transcription, then deleted the moment transcription completes. Formatting is a second hop that sees only the text, never the audio. Account email plus non-identifying usage analytics as above. | No Cloud mode runs only open-source / open-weight models on zero-retention providers — Whisper Large Turbo (open-source) on Groq or Cloudflare for transcription, and GPT-OSS 120B (open-weight) on Cerebras for text formatting. No third-party AI lab (OpenAI, Google, Anthropic, Microsoft) is in the audio path, and users never create an AI-vendor account or paste an API key. Voice is never stored, never sold, and never used to train any model; the same applies to text. Users pick a mode at setup and can switch in Settings. Windows and Intel Macs are cloud-mode only. Training23/25 | Audio is deleted the moment transcription completes. Neither voice nor text is stored. Retention23/25 | No — cloud mode runs on zero-retention providers (works on all Macs — Intel and Apple Silicon — and on Windows, a ground-up native app launched in 2026). On-device3/25 | Hybrid model documented publicly on Voibe's AI & privacy page; open-source models only, zero retention, no training, no third-party AI lab in the audio path. Track record22/25 | 71/100Strong | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free (data sharing ON / Zero Data Retention off, default — formerly called Privacy Mode) | Audio, transcripts, edits, optional Context Awareness (screen content from active app) | Yes (opt-in) After 2024 community backlash, training is now off by default and requires opt-in ("If you opt to share your content with us for model training"). The privacy policy (last updated August 19, 2026) no longer states a fixed retention window for retained dictation data — "only for as long as necessary" — and says content passed to third-party LLM providers "is not used to train their models and is generally deleted within 30 days." Dictation Cloud Storage and Notetaker transcript retention are user-configurable under Settings → Data and Privacy. The August 2026 policy also newly covers Wispr's Notetaker (meeting audio) and Google Workspace data. Training20/25 | No fixed retention window published for retained dictation data ("only for as long as necessary"); about 30 days for third-party LLM passthrough per the August 2026 policy. Retention3/25 | No — transcription always happens in the cloud, even in Privacy Mode (zero-retention cloud, not local). On-device3/25 | 2024 community backlash forced opt-in training and Privacy Mode; Free tier still indefinite by default. March 2026: Wispr's prior SOC 2 Type II (Accorp Partners) and ISO 27001 (Gradient) certifications were proactively invalidated over platform-integrity concerns at the original auditor; A-LIGN re-audited, completing a clean SOC 2 Type I in April 2026 and ISO 27001:2022 Stage 1 in April 2026. As of September 10, 2026 Wispr's compliance FAQ still lists the SOC 2 Type II observation period as underway with no report issued, and ISO 27001 Stage 2 as "scheduled June 2026" with no completion announced. Track record10/25 | 36/100Poor | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| On-device modes (Fast / Nano / Standard / Parakeet / Cohere Transcribe — Free + Pro) | None — audio processed locally and never transmitted | No "Your data is not retained on Superwhisper servers" and "not used for training AI models or any other machine learning purposes." Audio recordings are saved to local disk by default — opt out in settings. Training25/25 | N/A on servers. Local recordings persist until the user deletes them. Retention23/25 | Yes On-device25/25 | Stable privacy-first stance. Cloud modes were added before the public privacy policy addressed them; the June 2026 Terms now state zero-retention, no-training handling for cloud modes. Trust center (trust.mycroft.io/superwhisper) lists a SOC 2 Type II report dated March 3, 2026 and subprocessors Anthropic, Cloudflare, AWS, Argmax, and OpenAI. Track record20/25 | 93/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Cloud modes (Ultra transcription / Super Mode LLMs — Pro) | Audio sent to Superwhisper's proxy infrastructure | No (per vendor) Superwhisper says cloud audio is proxied through their infrastructure and providers "see a proxy request, not your account, and nothing is retained for training." The privacy policy (still dated June 19, 2024) does not distinguish cloud modes, but the Terms (updated June 2026) now state that cloud models "process your content transiently on a zero-retention basis and do not store it after processing" and that "your data is not used to train, fine-tune, or improve AI models." Cloud transcription models include Ultra, S1-Voice, Scribe V2, and Nova 3; Super Mode LLMs include Claude, GPT-5-series, Gemini, and Grok models. Training18/25 | Terms (June 2026): cloud models process content "transiently on a zero-retention basis"; the 2024 privacy policy still does not address cloud modes separately. Retention18/25 | No On-device3/25 | Stable privacy-first stance. Cloud modes were added before the public privacy policy addressed them; the June 2026 Terms now state zero-retention, no-training handling for cloud modes. Trust center (trust.mycroft.io/superwhisper) lists a SOC 2 Type II report dated March 3, 2026 and subprocessors Anthropic, Cloudflare, AWS, Argmax, and OpenAI. Track record20/25 | 59/100Adequate | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Pro (Gumroad) / Whisper Transcription (App Store) | On-device modes: none transmitted. App Store version discloses "Usage Data" and "Product Interaction" as Data Not Linked to You. Cloud Assistant or BYOK (OpenAI / ElevenLabs) features send audio to those providers under their terms. | No (by MacWhisper) MacWhisper does not train its own models on user audio. Cloud Assistant and BYOK integrations inherit the chosen provider's terms (e.g., OpenAI Whisper API, Anthropic / ElevenLabs). Training23/25 | On-device transcription: not retained. Cloud Assistant / BYOK: per third-party provider's terms. Retention20/25 | Yes (primary mode) — local Whisper models plus Apple Foundation Models for AI features. Cloud Assistant is opt-in for higher-quality transcription. On-device23/25 | Long-running indie tool; on-device by default; no documented incidents. Track record22/25 | 88/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Starter (free) / Pro ($8/mo annual) / Max ($24/mo annual, Realtime Mode) | Audio inputs, technical data (IP, browser, OS, performance metrics), session metadata. With Privacy Mode disabled, "we may securely store transcript data on our servers." Instant Mode uses Aqua's own Avalon models; Realtime Mode streams audio to a third-party realtime speech provider. | Yes (opt-out) Privacy Mode toggle stops transcript storage on Aqua Voice servers; with it enabled, "transcript data is not collected" though session metadata may still be. The privacy policy (last updated July 29, 2026) does not use the word training, but the FAQ now states: "By default, dictation transcripts may be retained to improve the model; switch on Privacy Mode and they aren't." SOC 2 Type II certified by Advantage Partners. Per the FAQ, "Aqua doesn't sign HIPAA BAAs yet." Training8/25 | With Privacy Mode disabled: not specified in policy. With Privacy Mode enabled: transcripts not stored; session metadata (timestamps, device type, performance metrics) may be retained. Retention0/25 | No — cloud transcription On-device3/25 | SOC 2 Type II via Advantage Partners. The privacy policy is silent on training, but the FAQ states default transcript retention is used to improve the model; no HIPAA BAA. Track record15/25 | 26/100Poor | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free / Pro | Audio plus limited contextual information, processed on Typeless's cloud servers. Subprocessors include third-party LLM providers, analytics, and cloud infrastructure. | No (per vendor) Privacy policy (last updated August 25, 2026): "Your data is never used to train these services and is configured for zero retention by the providers." The data-controls page adds: "Your voice audio is not stored. Dictation data is not used for model training by us or any third party." Note: the November 2025 reverse-engineering analysis documented in our Typeless privacy issues investigation reported collection beyond what the public policy describes — verify against the current policy and subprocessor list before sensitive use. Training15/25 | Per the privacy policy, audio + contextual information are "processed in real time on our cloud servers and immediately discarded once the transcription result is returned." Optional History cloud sync stores history text on Typeless servers until you turn it off or delete it. Retention23/25 | No — cloud-processed in real time On-device3/25 | Nov 2025 reverse-engineering analysis documented collection (URLs, window-title metadata, broad permissions) beyond what the public policy describes. Track record5/25 | 46/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| macOS / iOS (Apple Silicon, supported languages) | Audio inputs, plus contextual data (contacts, app names, etc.) when sent to servers | Opt-in only "Improve Siri & Dictation" must be enabled. Default at setup is to be asked. Training20/25 | If opted in: audio + transcripts kept under a rotating random ID for up to 6 months, dissociated and kept up to 2 years for improvement; reviewed subset retained beyond 2 years. If opted out: not retained for improvement. Retention13/25 | Yes (partially) — most languages on Apple Silicon process locally for general text fields (Notes, Mail, Messages). Server fallback applies to unsupported languages, search-box dictation, and some third-party Speech Recognition API uses. On-device18/25 | 2019 Siri grading scandal led to opt-in for human review; otherwise privacy-forward. Track record18/25 | 69/100Adequate | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free Trial / Individual ($12/mo annual = $144/yr, Private Mode default) | Private Mode (default): basic technical and account-related data only — verbatim: "In private mode, Willow only collects basic technical and account-related data needed to run the app and nothing else. No voice, no dictated text." Opt-In Mode: anonymized text and usage data to improve text-correction models. | No (Private Mode default) Private Mode is the default. Training only occurs if the user explicitly opts into Opt-In Mode — "You can allow Willow to collect minimal usage data to help improve our text correction models." This is the inverse of Wispr Flow Free, which had Privacy Mode off by default until the 2024 community backlash. Privacy policy last updated April 30 2025. Training20/25 | Private Mode: no audio or transcript collected on Willow servers. Opt-In Mode: "We keep anonymized text and usage data only as long as needed to train and improve the app." No specific retention window disclosed for the Opt-In path. Retention13/25 | No — cloud-first transcription. The privacy policy's "this is only stored locally on your device for you to view" refers to local UI storage of past transcripts, not local transcription. No offline transcription mode advertised on the current pricing page. On-device5/25 | Newer entrant (YC X25 cohort). Marketing pricing page advertises HIPAA + SOC 2 + zero data retention at the Enterprise tier, but the privacy policy text itself only references "GDPR and SOC 2" — HIPAA / BAA scope is not documented in the policy. Minor discrepancy between marketing claims and policy substantiation. Track record13/25 | 51/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free (1,000 words + 10 notes) / Pro ($15/mo or $144/yr) | Per the rewritten monologue.to data-privacy page: "Monologue does not save audio or transcripts from Dictation on its servers." Notes are different: "When you record a Note, Monologue stores the Note's audio, transcript, and summary in your account so they can sync across your devices," and saved Notes are also reachable through Monologue's MCP, API, and CLI tools. "Deep Context screenshots are deleted immediately after processing." Custom modes and dictionaries now sync across devices. | No (per vendor, for Dictation) The data-privacy page now states: "Monologue's AI providers process Dictation with zero data retention, so your dictation is not retained for model training." The statement covers Dictation and is phrased as provider-side retention rather than an explicit Monologue-side training exclusion; it does not address the stored audio, transcripts, and summaries from Notes. The Notion-hosted privacy policy remains sparse. Training18/25 | Dictation: audio and transcripts not saved on Monologue servers; AI providers process with zero data retention. Notes: audio, transcript, and summary stored in your account for sync. Deep Context screenshots deleted immediately after processing. Retention15/25 | Partial — "Offline transcription on Mac using local models" is listed on the marketing site, but the default architecture is cloud (AI providers process Dictation) and Notes are stored in the cloud. On-device13/25 | Indie product (1-person team). Privacy policy hosted on Notion and sparse — no list of data categories, no subprocessor list, no SOC 2 / HIPAA / BAA. The data-privacy page was rewritten in 2026 to add a no-retention-for-training statement for Dictation while disclosing that Notes audio, transcripts, and summaries are stored in the account. Track record8/25 | 54/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free build (GPL v3) / Solo $25 / Personal $39 / Extended $49 (one-time) | None on VoiceInk servers — there is no VoiceInk-operated cloud service. By default audio is transcribed on-device using whisper.cpp. Optional bring-your-own-key cloud features exist: cloud transcription can send audio to the provider you choose, and AI Enhancement sends "only the transcribed text (never audio)" to that provider. | No Privacy policy (last updated April 20, 2026): "No data leaves your computer unless you explicitly choose to enable optional cloud services." Optional BYOK providers include OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini, Groq, Mistral, Deepgram, and ElevenLabs; with them enabled, handling follows that provider's terms. VoiceInk itself operates no server and does not train. Source code is auditable on GitHub under GPL v3.0. Training25/25 | Default: nothing leaves the device. With optional BYOK cloud modes enabled, retention follows the chosen provider. Retention25/25 | Yes (default) — local Whisper models via whisper.cpp on macOS 14.4+. Optional BYOK cloud transcription and AI Enhancement are user-enabled. On-device25/25 | Open-source GPL v3.0; auditable on GitHub at Beingpax/VoiceInk; 6,400+ stars and 900+ forks; latest v2.13 (August 27, 2026). No documented incidents; GitHub issue #537 (February 2026) flagged that the privacy policy did not fully document Context-Aware / clipboard data sent to BYOK providers, and the April 2026 policy revision added the optional-cloud disclosure. Mild deduction for being a single-maintainer project (continuity risk distinct from privacy risk). Track record22/25 | 97/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Local Only Mode (Free) | None during transcription — audio runs through OpenAI Whisper Large-v3 and NVIDIA Parakeet locally on Apple Silicon with no network calls. Analytics per the privacy policy are limited to button clicks and page views, with no personally identifiable information stated. | No In Local Only Mode there is no transmission to train on. The privacy policy (last updated July 7, 2026) states audio recordings are "not stored" on Spokenly's servers; in this mode nothing reaches a server in the first place. Training25/25 | Audio: not transmitted, not retained. Local recordings persist on the Mac until the user deletes them. Retention25/25 | Yes — Whisper Large-v3 and Parakeet on Apple Silicon, no network calls during transcription. On-device25/25 | Indie product by named solo developer Vadim Akhmerov (disclosed via App Store, not the privacy policy); no disclosed corporate entity or jurisdiction; no SOC 2 / HIPAA / ISO 27001 / GDPR / CCPA attestations. App Store 4.4/5 from 56 ratings; v1.12.3 released September 2026. No documented incidents. Track record14/25 | 89/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| BYOK cloud (Free — bring your own API key) | Audio routed to whichever provider you configure keys for — OpenAI, Deepgram, Groq, Anthropic, or Google. Spokenly passes audio through; data handling is governed by the chosen provider's terms. | Depends on provider Spokenly itself does not train on audio, but BYOK transfers the training and retention question to the provider whose key you supply. Each provider (OpenAI, Deepgram, Groq, Anthropic, Google) has its own training and retention terms — verify the specific provider before sensitive use. Training16/25 | Spokenly: "not stored" on its servers. Provider-side retention follows whichever API you bring keys for. Retention14/25 | No — audio leaves the device for the configured cloud provider. On-device3/25 | Indie solo-developer product; no disclosed corporate entity; no compliance attestations. App Store 4.4/5 from 56 ratings. Track record14/25 | 47/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Pro managed cloud ($9.99/mo) | Audio forwarded by Spokenly's backend to third-party transcription services: the July 2026 policy names OpenAI, Deepgram, Soniox, Cartesia, ElevenLabs, Groq, Mistral AI, xAI, OpenRouter, fal.ai, and Cerebras (eleven providers; Fireworks was removed). Each is a separate data-handling entity. | Best-effort ("prefer" no-training providers) The July 7, 2026 policy states Spokenly's backend "does not store these recordings" and "immediately forwards them to third-party transcription services," and that Spokenly "prefer[s] options that do not use customer data for model training where available." That is a hedged preference, not a contractual no-training guarantee across the eleven named providers. Training15/25 | Spokenly: audio "not stored" on its servers. Each of the eleven named providers retains per its own terms — not enumerated in Spokenly's policy. Retention16/25 | No — audio is processed through the managed-cloud subprocessor chain. On-device3/25 | No SOC 2 / HIPAA BAA / ISO 27001; no disclosed corporate entity. Eleven subprocessors named but their handling terms are not enumerated. Track record14/25 | 48/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Dragon Professional v16 — Windows desktop, fully offline (no Mac version since 2018; Dragon Home discontinued 2023) | None transmitted in local desktop operation. Voice profile (acoustic data, custom vocabulary, dictionary) stored locally on the user's Windows machine. | No Dragon Professional v16 is a locally installed Windows desktop application that processes audio on-device once activated. Audio is not transmitted to Nuance/Microsoft servers in normal desktop operation. Product is Windows-only — Mac version was discontinued in 2018. Training22/25 | Profile and acoustic data stored locally on the user's machine; nothing sent off-device in desktop dictation mode. Retention22/25 | Yes — fully offline/local processing on Windows (x86). Apple Silicon Mac users have no native Dragon option since the 2018 Mac discontinuation. On-device23/25 | 2017 NotPetya attack disrupted Nuance's hosted services (including Dragon Medical) for weeks. Development largely stalled since Microsoft's 2022 Nuance acquisition (v17 ≈ v16). Mac version discontinued 2018; Dragon Home (consumer) discontinued 2023. Non-medical product marketing pages now redirect to Microsoft's health-solutions hub. Track record16/25 | 83/100Strong | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Dragon Anywhere (iOS/Android) — cloud; end of sale July 1, 2026 (no new subscriptions or renewals) | Audio and transcripts transmitted to Nuance/Microsoft cloud for recognition. Account/device metadata also collected. | Yes — product improvement (Nuance Privacy Statement) As of July 1, 2026 Dragon Anywhere Mobile "is no longer available for sale" and new subscriptions or renewals are no longer possible, per the App Store listing; existing subscribers continue to run a discontinued cloud product. The Nuance Privacy Statement (March 14, 2025) that still governs Dragon states voice data "may be manually reviewed and transcribed into text for Nuance's product operation, tuning, maintenance, and enhancement" and that "to build, train, and improve the accuracy of our automated methods of processing (including AI), we manually review some of the predictions." No Dragon Anywhere-specific opt-out is documented; Microsoft's general Privacy Statement (September 2026) also reserves the right to use data to "develop, train, and fine-tune our AI models." Training8/25 | Nuance Privacy Statement: data retained "for as long as you remain an active customer … and for 3 years afterwards." App Store privacy label lists audio recordings, email, product interaction, and crash data linked to the user. Retention10/25 | No — cloud recognition. On-device3/25 | Same 2017 NotPetya history. Post-acquisition product reorganization removed many Nuance trust-center URLs (now redirect to Microsoft health-solutions), creating a discovery gap that itself is a track-record drag for buyers trying to verify privacy commitments. Track record14/25 | 35/100Poor | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free (MIT open-source) — macOS / Windows / Linux | None on any Handy server — there is no Handy-operated cloud service and no account system. Audio runs through local Silero voice-activity detection and a locally downloaded speech model (Whisper, Parakeet, and others). The only default network call is a signed update check against GitHub releases, toggleable in Settings. | No No policy document exists — handy.computer/privacy returns 404 (checked September 10, 2026). The governing text is the homepage and README: "Your voice stays on your computer. Get transcriptions without sending audio to the cloud." Because no vendor server receives audio or text, there is no training path. The README roadmap still lists "Opt-in Analytics" ("Privacy-first approach with clear opt-in") as unshipped as of v0.9.6. An optional bring-your-own-key LLM post-processing path that sends transcript text (never audio) to a provider you configure was found in our July 2026 source audit; it is not documented in the README and was not re-audited this pass. Training25/25 | Nothing leaves the device. Transcript history lives in a local SQLite database under the user's control. No vendor retention surface. Retention25/25 | Yes — all transcription is local on macOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, and Linux. No cloud transcription endpoint exists in the codebase. On-device25/25 | Open-source MIT at github.com/cjpais/Handy; 31,300+ stars and 2,800+ forks; releases v0.9.4 (July 21), v0.9.5 (August 8), and v0.9.6 (August 24, 2026). No documented incidents, CVEs, or advisories. Deductions: no privacy policy document at all (procurement has nothing to file), solo maintainer CJ Pais with no legal entity behind the project (sponsor-funded: Wordcab, Epicenter, Bolt AI), and a roadmap analytics item to re-check each release. Track record21/25 | 96/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Local mode (Free — MIT open-source client) | None during transcription — Whisper or NVIDIA Parakeet run on-device via whisper.cpp and sherpa-onnx. The privacy policy (last updated August 12, 2026) states that in local processing "no audio is transmitted anywhere." An OpenWhispr account (email, name, hashed password) is only required for cloud features; optional diagnostic metrics cover "audio processing metrics (duration, format)" and timing data, not content. | No Nothing is transmitted in local mode, so there is no training path. The August 12, 2026 privacy policy adds a blanket commitment across all modes: "We never use your transcribed content, notes, or audio for advertising, marketing to third parties, or training our own AI models." The desktop client is MIT-licensed and auditable at github.com/OpenWhispr/openwhispr. Training25/25 | Nothing leaves the device. Local audio files are kept "up to 30 days" only if the user enables local audio retention; the user sets the window. Retention25/25 | Yes — local Whisper / Parakeet on macOS, Windows, and Linux with Metal, CUDA, and Vulkan acceleration. On-device25/25 | MIT client, 7,900+ stars, 975 forks; releases v1.9.0 (August 24), v1.9.1 (August 27), v1.9.2 (August 29, 2026). Legal entity Gizmo Labs Inc. (Delaware). No documented incidents. Deductions: the README's "No data collection, no telemetry" line predates the 2026 hosted product with accounts and sync; the August 2026 policy discloses that BYOK API keys are "stored in plaintext in your local app data directory." Track record19/25 | 94/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| BYOK cloud (Free — bring your own API key) | Audio and/or transcript text routed with your own key directly to the provider you configure — the policy says BYOK audio is "sent directly to user's provider" (OpenAI, Groq, and Gemini transcription per the v1.9.1 release notes; LLM formatting can use further providers). OpenWhispr's servers are not in the path. | Depends on provider OpenWhispr does not train, but BYOK moves the training and retention question to the provider whose key you paste in; that provider's API terms govern. Key-handling caveat from the August 12, 2026 policy: "API keys you enter for third-party providers are currently stored in plaintext in your local app data directory." The v1.9.2 release (August 29, 2026) notes custom endpoints now fail safely instead of silently routing to default providers. Training16/25 | Not retained by OpenWhispr (not in the path). Provider-side retention follows the API you bring keys for. Retention14/25 | No — audio leaves the device for the configured provider. On-device3/25 | Plaintext local storage of BYOK keys is disclosed in the policy rather than fixed. No incidents. Track record18/25 | 51/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| OpenWhispr Cloud — Pro ($6.67/user/mo billed $80/yr) | Audio sent to OpenWhispr's API and forwarded to named subprocessors — OpenAI OpCo, LLC (speech-to-text and language models), Parasail, Inc. (AI inference), and Groq, Inc. (inference and transcription failover) per DPA Annex 3 — plus account data in Neon, payments in Stripe, hosting on Vercel, and optional Google OAuth / Calendar. Synced notes and transcripts are stored for the account. | No (contractual) Terms of Service (effective July 23, 2026): "We will not use Customer Content — audio, transcriptions, notes, or AI agent prompts — to train any artificial intelligence or machine learning model." DPA v1.2 (updated August 21, 2026): OpenWhispr "will not use Customer Personal Data — including voice audio, transcriptions, notes, prompts and AI-agent conversations — to train, retrain or improve any artificial intelligence or machine learning model." Homepage adds: "If that ever changes, it will be opt-in and we will ask first." Training23/25 | Audio: "sent to our API, processed in real time, and discarded" (policy) — marketed as "0% Data Retention." Synced notes/transcripts persist for the account and are "deleted within 30 days of account deletion." Subprocessor-side retention at OpenAI / Groq / Parasail is not enumerated in the policy. Retention21/25 | No — audio is processed through the managed-cloud subprocessor chain. The same app can be switched back to local mode. On-device3/25 | SOC 2 Type 2 (report period May 1–July 31, 2026), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (valid through July 27, 2027), and HIPAA / GDPR attestations listed in the DPA and on the Comp AI-hosted trust center; auditor not named on either page. No documented incidents. Young company (Delaware, product line expanded to hosted accounts in 2026); the README still says "no telemetry" while the policy describes optional diagnostics. Track record19/25 | 66/100Adequate | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free (GPLv3 open-source) — macOS 15+ | No audio or text on any vendor server. README: "Your voice, audio, and transcribed text never leave your machine unless you explicitly opt in to a cloud AI provider." What does reach the vendor by default is anonymous analytics: "a random installation ID, activity date, app version, and macOS platform label" plus daily feature/model usage totals, onboarding progress, and model-download outcomes — the README states voice, audio, transcripts, prompts, and clipboard content are not collected. | No No vendor receives audio or transcript text in the default configuration, so there is no training path. Speech models (Whisper, Parakeet, Nemotron, Cohere Transcribe, Apple Speech) are local downloads. The enhancement model Fluid-1 (about 3.5 GB) is closed — "We're keeping Fluid Intelligence private for now so we can sustainably offer the core dictation experience for free" — but runs offline on the Mac. Opt-in cloud enhancement sends transcript text to OpenAI, Groq, or a custom provider under that provider's terms; keys are stored in the macOS Keychain. There is no formal privacy policy document; the README and altic.dev/fluid (last updated February 23, 2026) are the governing text. Training25/25 | Audio and transcripts stay on the Mac. Analytics metadata is sent to the vendor; its retention window is not published. Retention23/25 | Yes — all speech-to-text and default enhancement are local. Apple Silicon required for every model except Whisper (Intel supported from v1.5.1 via Whisper only). "Detailed anonymous analytics" are on by default and can be disabled at Settings → Share Detailed Anonymous Analytics. On-device25/25 | GPLv3 since February 23, 2026 (Apache 2.0 before); 11,400+ stars, 811 forks; releases v1.6.7 (August 5), v1.6.8 (August 11), v1.6.9 (August 18, 2026). No documented incidents. Deductions: default-on analytics in a local-first app, the closed Fluid-1 model cannot be audited, no privacy policy document, and a small team with no published legal entity or compliance attestations. Track record19/25 | 92/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free (1,000 words/mo) / Pro ($15/mo or $12/mo billed yearly) | Audio and dictated text pass through VoiceDash's pipeline to OpenAI on every dictation — the privacy policy states: "Your voice recordings are transmitted to OpenAI for the sole purpose of real-time transcription and response generation." The DPA (effective May 26, 2026) names nine subprocessors: OpenAI, Groq, Cloudflare, Hetzner, Sentry, Metabase, CustomerIO, RevenueCat, and Apple. Account and billing data are retained; content the user saves to Notes is stored. | No (policy + DPA) Privacy policy (undated): "Your voice data is strictly excluded from our machine learning training sets. Your input does not influence the development of VoiceDash AI models." DPA: data is "processed transiently, structurally excluded from AI model training loops." OpenAI's API data-usage page confirms API inputs are not used for training by default. Groq appears in the DPA subprocessor list but not in the privacy policy. Training22/25 | VoiceDash: "does not store your voice files or transcriptions on our servers" (exception: user-saved Notes). Second perimeter: OpenAI retains API abuse-monitoring logs up to 30 days by default; the founder's AppSumo claim that VoiceDash holds a Zero Data Retention arrangement with OpenAI is unverified — it appears in neither the privacy policy nor the DPA. Retention17/25 | No — cloud-only; no local or offline mode is offered. On-device3/25 | Jumpstart Ventures FZE, Dubai Silicon Oasis (disclosed in the DPA, not the privacy policy); founded February 2025. No documented incidents. AppSumo 4.42/5 from 234 reviews. Deductions: privacy policy carries no effective date; terms of service (October 27, 2025) governing-law clause reads "the laws of us"; no SOC 2, ISO 27001, or HIPAA attestation published; DPA subprocessor list (Groq) is broader than the policy's disclosure. Track record16/25 | 58/100Adequate | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Local mode on Apple Silicon ($14.99/mo, $99/yr, or Lifetime local-only) | No audio during transcription — docs: "When the active speech-recognition backend is local, speech audio is transcribed on your Mac." Account, purchase, analytics, diagnostics, download, and update flows still use the network; the privacy policy (last updated July 23, 2026) lists PostHog, Cloudflare Web Analytics, Ahrefs, Simple Analytics, and Dub.co for analytics and Hetzner, Supabase, and Apple for hosting. | No (architectural; policy silent) In local mode nothing reaches a server to train on. The privacy policy makes no statement about AI training either way — an omission worth noting because it means cloud-mode users have no written commitment. Data controller is Burlis Management GmbH, Philippstrasse 27, 52349 Dueren, Germany (an EU entity under GDPR). Local models require Apple Silicon and macOS 14+; "Intel Macs use cloud models with a subscription." Training24/25 | Audio: "Audio input is temporary during transcription. The last audio file is stored locally on the user's device until replaced by a new recording or deleted by the user." Account data held "for as long as required by the purpose"; raw journey events cleared after 90 days. Retention23/25 | Yes on Apple Silicon — "Supported local modes can run offline after setup." Not available on Intel Macs. Cloud Cleanup must stay off. On-device25/25 | Named EU GmbH controller and named subprocessors are creditable. No documented incidents. Deductions: no SOC 2 / ISO 27001 / HIPAA / BAA at any tier; policy silent on training; iOS Voice Keyboard privacy label (v1.0.4) lists Audio Data under "Data Linked to You"; Cloud Cleanup shipped in 2026 after a local-first launch, so the default is local but the product is no longer local-only. Track record17/25 | 89/100Excellent | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Cloud mode — Deepgram transcription + Cloud Cleanup (same plans; Intel Macs cloud-only) | Audio to Deepgram: "When a user selects or is eligible for cloud transcription, Paraspeech may transmit selected audio and related request metadata to Deepgram for cloud transcription." With Cloud Cleanup on, "selected transcript text, prompt text, rewrite instructions, and related request metadata" go to Groq and Cerebras. Docs: Cloud Cleanup "uses cloud processing and requires internet access. It is available only when cloud processing is allowed." | Not stated The July 23, 2026 privacy policy names Deepgram, Groq, and Cerebras as processors but contains no statement on whether Paraspeech or those providers use audio or text for model training. Each provider's own terms govern; Paraspeech publishes no contractual no-training commitment. "Or is eligible for" covers Intel Macs, where every dictation is cloud by hardware rather than by choice. Training11/25 | Not published for audio or transcripts. Policy: provider-side handling "depends on the applicable provider and processing terms." Personal data kept "for as long as required by the purpose they have been collected for." Retention11/25 | No — audio leaves the Mac for Deepgram; Cloud Cleanup text leaves for Groq / Cerebras. On-device3/25 | EU GmbH controller, named processors, no incidents; no attestations, no BAA, policy silent on training. Track record17/25 | 42/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free trial (30 min) / Pro ($8.49/mo annual) / Lifetime ($260) | Audio recorded on the device and relayed through Voicy's Heroku-hosted servers to Groq, which runs the open-source Whisper V3 model for transcription and post-processing. Name and email for billing; anonymized Mixpanel usage analytics (button clicks, recording counts, errors) that can be disabled; in some cases anonymized data about the website Voicy is used on. | No (homepage only) The homepage states: "We do not use your recordings to train an AI model or for any other purpose." Neither the Data Handling and Security Policy (v1.3, last updated 31/07/2025) nor the undated privacy policy contains the word "train" — the commitment is a marketing-page statement, not a policy clause. Groq-side: the privacy policy says "we have enabled their Zero Data Retention settings and we do not use Groq's batch or fine-tuning endpoints." No SOC 2, ISO 27001, or HIPAA BAA published. Training16/25 | Security policy: "No audio recordings are stored by Voicy or Groq - all audio data is permanently deleted immediately after processing" and "All transcribed content is immediately deleted after delivery to the user." Transcripts live only on the user's device. Account data "stored locally on the user's device, not in centralized databases." Hosting location conflicts between documents: the privacy policy says servers "are hosted in the EU and US. US servers are reserved for US users"; the security policy says "All processing occurs in USA-based infrastructure." Retention21/25 | No — cloud-only at every tier (Mac, Windows, Linux, Chrome extension, iOS, Android); no offline mode. On-device3/25 | No documented incidents. Security policy dated July 31, 2025 has not been updated to cover the 2026 iOS/Android apps or the EU hosting now mentioned in the privacy policy; no SOC 2 / ISO 27001 / HIPAA; entity Pishi LLC FZ (UAE) disclosed only in the security policy footer. Track record15/25 | 55/100Adequate | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free / Pro ($9.99 App Store IAP) / AppSumo lifetime ($59 Tier 1) | Per secondary reporting (vendor policy page unreachable on 2026-09-10 — Vercel security checkpoint, HTTP 429): microphone audio transmitted to Blip AI's cloud for GPT-powered transcription and formatting; anonymized usage statistics; account and billing data. The App Store privacy label states "The developer does not collect any data from this app," which conflicts with the policy-described usage statistics. The policy does not name its subprocessors, though a third-party LLM provider sits in the path. | Not addressed (unverified) Per our June 5, 2026 review of the policy, Blip AI's privacy policy does not make an explicit commitment that dictation is not used to train models, and it does not name the GPT provider that processes audio. The AppSumo listing states: "Your audio isn't stored, and your text stays completely private to you." We could not re-read the live policy on September 10, 2026; treat the training posture as not published. No SOC 2, ISO 27001, or named auditor; HIPAA compliance and a BAA "on request" are asserted per secondary reporting with no published third-party backing. Training10/25 | Per secondary reporting: audio deleted immediately after transcription ("typically within seconds"); transcribed text not stored on Blip AI servers, delivered only to the device; anonymized usage statistics retained up to two years. Unverified live on 2026-09-10. Retention14/25 | No — cloud-only (macOS 12+ Apple Silicon, Windows, Android); no offline mode. On-device3/25 | No documented incidents. Solo/bootstrapped developer (Ayush Bansal), product launched October 2025; App Store 2.0/5 from 2 ratings (v1.0.5, July 19); App Store label "Data Not Collected" conflicts with the policy; HIPAA claim without SOC 2 or named auditor; privacy page blocked to automated verification. Track record12/25 | 39/100Poor | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Local mode (default; free during early access) | None transmitted during transcription: "By default, all speech-to-text processing happens entirely on your device using WhisperKit." Smart Typing cleanup "runs a local Llama 3.2 3B model entirely on your device via Apple's MLX framework." Transcript history, dictionary, snippets, settings, and API keys are stored in a local SQLite database and "never transmitted to our servers." Optional PostHog telemetry (random install ID, feature events, word counts) is described as "disabled by default." | No (structural; policy silent) The privacy policy (effective April 29, 2026) contains no training statement — the word "train" does not appear. In local mode nothing reaches a WisprType server, so there is no vendor-side data to train on. Caveat from our July 2026 hands-on test: v1.1.0 shipped with telemetry enabled on a fresh install despite the "disabled by default" wording; v1.1.0 is still the current build. No legal entity, terms of service, or compliance attestation is published. Training22/25 | Audio: "processed in real time and are not retained after transcription completes, unless you explicitly save them." Transcript text and target-app names persist in the local SQLite database until the user deletes them; nothing is synced to iCloud or external servers. Telemetry, when enabled, is retained by PostHog under PostHog's policy. Retention23/25 | Yes — WhisperKit speech-to-text and Llama 3.2 3B cleanup on Apple Silicon; no network calls during transcription in local mode (macOS 12+, Apple Silicon required). On-device24/25 | Closed-source; no legal entity, terms of service, or attestation; domain registered April 28, 2026; our July 2026 test found v1.1.0 telemetry enabled on install despite the policy's "disabled by default" statement; no App Store listing or third-party review surface. Track record10/25 | 79/100Strong | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| BYOK cloud mode (OpenAI, Groq, or Deepgram — bring your own API key) | Audio (WAV), model name, and optional prompt or keyword hints sent directly to the provider you configure; in cloud mode Smart Typing also sends raw transcript text and dictionary words to "the same cloud provider's chat LLM." "Cloud providers are never used unless you explicitly configure them by entering an API key and selecting cloud mode in Settings." API keys stay local. | Depends on provider WisprType has no server in the path; the training and retention question transfers to OpenAI, Groq, or Deepgram under your own API agreement. The policy links each provider's privacy page and says "Please review each provider's privacy policy to understand how they handle your audio data." Training16/25 | WisprType: audio not retained; transcripts stored locally. Provider-side retention follows the API terms of the provider you bring keys for. Retention14/25 | No — audio leaves the device for the configured provider. On-device3/25 | Same: no legal entity, no attestations, telemetry-default discrepancy found in v1.1.0. Track record10/25 | 43/100Weak | Sep 10, 2026 | |
| Free (2,000 words/mo) / Pro ($7/mo or $69/yr; App Store IAP $7.99/mo, $79.99/yr) | Microphone audio, dictated text, selected text, formatting instructions, vocabulary, snippets, and custom AI instructions, processed by DictaFlow and its providers; the August 14, 2026 policy names "OpenAI, Deepgram, and Groq for transcription and related AI processing," Apple/Google/Microsoft for sign-in, Google Cloud for hosting, Stripe for payments. Usage data includes word and minute totals, plan state, app version, a random installation identifier, and request identifiers. Local processing is offered with an optional cloud cleanup step; the vendor's facts page says the product is "never 'fully offline'." Operated by SmartBids.ai Corp., a Canadian corporation. | No (homepage + App Store label) The homepage states "your audio is never used to train models," and the App Store privacy label places Audio Data under "Data Not Linked to You." The privacy policy itself (last updated August 14, 2026) contains no training clause; it commits only that DictaFlow does "not sell personal information or use dictated audio or text for targeted advertising." The policy states the standard service is "not intended for medical dictation ... or any use involving protected health information (PHI)" and directs PHI users to DictaFlow Medical. No SOC 2 or ISO 27001 published. Training15/25 | "We do not permanently retain audio recordings on our servers after processing in the ordinary course" and "Audio is ordinarily discarded after processing." Transcription text "may be retained when needed to provide features you choose, synchronize supported devices, recover a requested result, investigate a support issue, or comply with law." No retention window in days is published. Local history and notes stay on the device until deleted; account deletion available via Settings → Delete account. Retention15/25 | Partial — local processing available on device; cloud cleanup (OpenAI, Deepgram, Groq) is optional per dictation. Windows, Mac, iPhone, iPad, Android. On-device14/25 | No documented incidents. Named Canadian corporation (SmartBids.ai Corp.) and named developer (Ryan Shrott); policy updated August 14, 2026 and it no longer names NVIDIA as a provider; App Store 4.4/5 from 12 ratings (v1.2.41, Aug 28). No SOC 2 / ISO 27001; consumer plan explicitly excluded from PHI use. Track record17/25 | 61/100Adequate | Sep 10, 2026 | |